Halloween Treats for a Gluten Free Coworker or Family
As you unload your Halloween loot, be sure to check the following lists to see what is safe for the kiddos and yourself if you are following a gluten free diet. Feeding your gluten free coworker or a being a gluten free family means you have to be careful but as you’ll see, there are still lots for us to indulge in this Halloween!
These lists are only a guide, since ingredients and formulas can change at any time. In some cases, a product made at one location may be listed as gluten-free, while the same product made at a different location may not be gluten-free.
If you are not sure a product is gluten-free, contact the manufacturer’s customer service personnel directly at the list numbers listed.
Nestle USA considers “gluten-free” to mean “no gluten ingredients are in the product, whether directly added, or potentially present due to cross-contact. If a product label has an allergen advisory statement such as ‘made on equipment’ or ‘facility that also processes wheat etc.,” we do not consider that product to be gluten-free. It is important to always read product labels/packaging for the most accurate information.” Nestle will label potential gluten cross contamination, a customer service representative says.
According to Nestle, the following candies are gluten-free:
- Baby Ruth
- Butterfinger Bar (original flavor only, NOT giant bar)
- Milk Chocolate
- Nips (including both regular and sugar-free)
- Oh Henry!
- Raisinets (including Cherry, Cranberry and Dark Chocolate flavors)
- Wonka Pixy Stix
- Laffy Taffy (including Laffy Taffy Rope and Fruitarts Chews)
- Wonka Lik-M-Aid Fun Dip
The following Nestle candy products are NOT gluten-free:
- Butterfinger Crisp Bar
- Butterfinger Giant Bar
- Butterfinger Snackerz
- Butterfinger Medallions
- Butterfinger Jingles
- Butterfinger Hearts
- Butterfinger Pumpkins
- Wonka Nerds
- Wonka Bar (all flavors)
- Chewy Spree
- Wonka Gummies
- Wonka Kazoozles
- Everlasting Gobstopper
- 100 Grand Bar
In some of these products, the ingredients themselves are gluten-free, but the candies are processed in a facility that also processes gluten.
Contact Nestle USA at 800-225-2270
Mars Chocolate makes M&M’s, Dove, Snickers and other products. The company urges gluten-free consumers to check labels, even if a product normally is gluten-free; in busy times of year (such as Halloween), Mars uses alternative facilities to make its candy, and some of those may introduce cross-contamination risks. The company says it will label any gluten ingredients or cross-contamination.
According to Mars Chocolate, the following candies are gluten-free:
- M&M’s (all EXCEPT for pretzel-flavored M&M’s
- 3 Musketeers Bars (all flavors)
- Milky Way Midnight Bar
- Milky Way Caramel Bar
- Dove Chocolate products (all flavors)
- Snickers Bars (all flavors)
- Munch Nut Bar
The following Mars Chocolate products are NOT gluten-free:
- Milky Way Bar (original)
- Mars Bar
Contact Mars Chocolate at 800-627-7852
Hershey’s does not publish a gluten-free candy list because “the ingredients can change at any time,” according to one of the company’s customer service representatives.
As of October 2011, the following (short) list of Hershey’s products are gluten-free:
- Hershey’s Plain Milk Chocolate Kisses
- Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar, only in the 1.55 oz. size
- Hershey’s Milk Chocolate with Almonds Bar, only in the 1.45 oz. size
The following Hershey’s products are NOT gluten-free:
- Hershey’s Special Dark Bar
- Hershey’s Cookies ‘N’ Creme Bar
- Hershey’s Air Delight
- Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Drops
- Hershey’s Miniatures
- Hershey’s Nuggets
- Mr. Goodbar
- Symphony Bar
- Hershey’s Extra Dark Chocolate
- Almond Joy
Hershey’s says it will list any ingredients containing wheat, barley, rye, oats and malt on the label, and also will disclose shared equipment or shared facilities on the label.
Contact Hershey’s at 800-468-1714
Jelly Belly makes jelly beans in an ever-expanding array of colors and flavors. According to the company, “all Jelly Belly beans are gluten-free, dairy-free, gelatin-free, vegetarian and OU Kosher.” This includes licorice-flavored gluten-free Jelly Belly jelly beans (in most cases, licorice candy contains wheat).
However, other Jelly Belly candies, including Chocolate Malt Balls, Chocolate Bridge Mix, Licorice Bridge Mix, Black Licorice Buttons and Licorice Pastels, are NOT gluten-free.
Contact Jelly Belly at 800-522-3267
Necco probably is best known for its small sugar Valentine heart candies – the pastel-colored ones that say “Be Mine” and “True Love” – but my daughter’s candy stash often turns up a few Necco products every Halloween.
According to Necco, the following products do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley:
- Necco Wafers
- Mary Janes
- Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses
- Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (available for Valentine’s Day only)
- Canada Mint & Wintergreen Lozenges
- Haviland Thin Mints
- Candy Stix
- Clark Bars
- Haviland Peppermint & Wintergreen Patties
- Necco Candy Eggs (available at Easter only)
- Talking Pumpkins (available at Halloween only)
- Squirrel Nut Caramels
- Squirrel Nut Zippers
- Banana Split
- Mint Julep Chews
Contact Necco at 781-485-4800
Peeps marshmallow treats, made by Just Born, used to appear only at Easter, but in recent years we’ve seen Halloween Peeps shaped like pumpkins and ghosts.
According to Just Born, as of October 2011 all the company’s marshmallow candies that are safe from cross-contamination will state “gluten-free” on the package by the ingredients listing. The company also makes Mike and Ike Candies.
According to Just Born, the following candies are gluten-free:
- Mike and Ike Berry Blast
- Mike and Ike Italian Ice
- Mike and Ike Jolly Joes
- Mike and Ike Lemonade Blends
- Mike and Ike Original Fruits
- Mike and Ike Redrageous
- Mike and Ike Tangy Twister
- Mike and Ike Tropical Typhoon
- Mike and Ike Zours
- Mike and Ike Jelly Beans
- Mike and Ike Hot Tamales
- Goldenberg’s Vintage Peanut Chews
Contact Just Born at 888-645-3453
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.